2012 CPO Rankings

Featured Executive:

Chris Drews

Chris Drews is ExecRank's Top CPO for 2012. Mr. Drews’ leadership is turning procurement into an increasingly strategic field. He has helped Microsoft navigate the economic downturn by implementing a vigilant risk management system that checks and responds to the risk levels of their vendors. His work in implementing global category strategies has helped increase vendor consistency, while allowing his department to be more predictive in what’s going in in the market. He is highly regarded in his field, and amongst other CPOs.”

2012 CPO Rankings

Share This

There are over 5,000 Chief Procurement Officers and Purchasing Executives in the United States. Only the very best are awarded the distinction of being a part of ExecRank’s “Top CPO Rankings” for 2012. The number one area of focus for Top CPOs in 2012 has been their role in developing company wide purchasing strategies that grow revenues and improve profitability. ExecRank also weighed heavily publications and speeches that demonstrated thought leadership, as procurement is a constantly evolving field due to globalization and increasingly strict compliance pressures. In addition, we saw a significant uptick in the number of CPOs that served on boards of directors and displayed a skill set that is applicable to multiple industries. The CPOs that made this list represent the best of the best in their field.

Chief Procurement Officers and Purchasing Executives were ranked according to our patent-pending proprietary CPO Ranking Algorithm that calculates points for 24 key categories, in addition to the insights and feedback from evaluation committees featuring some of the world’s most renowned business leaders. Like all of our position specific ranking algorithms, the CPO Ranking Algorithm serves as an objective standard for executive performance and is designed to produce results that act as leading indicators for future executive and team performance. Feedback from past award winners includes:

Arthur Minson, CFO, AOL“This accolade from ExecRank is a reflection of all of the hard work my five thousand teammates have put in at AOL and I am honored to accept it on their behalf.”

Rob Lloyd, EVP & CFO, Gamestop“I am honored to be included with the outstanding leaders in my field in the ExecRank CFO rankings…”

Jeffery P. Howells, CFO, Tech Data Corporation“It’s an honor to be recognized (by ExecRank) and to be among this distinguished list of financial leaders…”

David B. Wyshner, SEVP & CFO, Avis Budget Group, Inc.“I am honored to be included in ExecRank’s listing of top CFOs, particularly because I consider this to be a testament to the capabilities and accomplishments of Avis Budget Group’s outstanding finance team around the world.”

Michael Short, CFO, AutoNation“I am grateful for the recognition by ExecRank but realize that it is actually an acknowledgement of the stellar work done by the finance staff at AutoNation…”

Daniel Knutson, CFO, Land O’Lakes“It is an honor to be among this distinguished group of financial leaders on ExecRank. It is really a reflection of the expertise and dedication of the entire team at Land O’Lakes.”

Cheryl Beebe, EVP & CFO, Ingredion Incorporated“I am delighted to be included in ExecRank’s 2012 Top CFOs. It is an honor to be among this distinguished group of CFOs.”

Shaun Mara, CFO, Dean Foods“The Dean Foods team has done a tremendous job turning around the business and maximizing shareholder value. It is an honor to be recognized (by ExecRank) as part of this great team.”

See more praise and media mentions for ExecRank rankings…

1. Chris Drews, Microsoft Corporation 2. Jeff Macho, WalMart Stores, Inc
3. Debra Bell, AT&T 4. Deb Stanton, MasterCard Worldwide
5. Grace Puma, PepsiCo Inc 6. John Vazquez, MetLife, Inc.
7. Melinda Hanson, Target Corporation 8. Hans Melotte, Johnson & Johnson
9. Frank J Crespo, Caterpillar Inc 10. Kevin Brown, Dell, Inc
11. Peter Kiriacoulacos, Comcast Corporation 12. Steve Donovan, United Parcel Service
13. Kathryn Hinton, Tesoro 14. Rob Falivene, Cisco Systems, Inc
15. Robert Boyd, Waste Management Inc 16. Eugene McGlothlin, Ingles Markets, Incorporated
17. Gayla Manning, NVIDIA 18. Christin Burek, Northern Trust Corporation
19. Loryn Offutt, Graphic Packaging Holding Company 20. Cindy Larsen, Wisconsin Energy Corporation
21. Stephen Harrington, M&T Bank Corporation 22. Sandy Wright, MGM Resorts International
23. Raymond Boy, National Fuel Gas Company 24. Andy Anderson, Zimmer Holdings, Inc
25. Deborah Beavin, Humana Inc 26. Dan Darrouzet, Texas Instruments Incorporated
27. Roger Maxfield, Apache Corporation 28. Steve Willis, Fiserv, Inc
29. Anders Lillevik, Fannie Mae 30. Rick Parrin, FirstMerit Corporation
31. Rodney Brown, Molex Incorporated 32. Carol Oliver, Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings
33. Curt White, Mattel, Inc 34. Emma Jackson, The TJX Companies, Inc
35. Sue Brownfield, LifePoint Hospitals, Inc 36. Ty Thornton, Regions Financial Corporation
37. Susan Newton, Paychex, Inc 38. Cynthia Dautrich, Kimberly-Clark Corporation
39. John Hockett, Edison International 40. Gary Swinden, ON Semiconductor Corporation
41. Roberto Mendez, Herman Miller, Inc 42. Tom Lutz, U.S. Bancorp
43. Chuck Hubbard, Exide Technologies 44. Laks Natarajan, Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc
45. Ann Wisener, Tyson Foods, Inc 46. Deborah Smith, TECO Energy, Inc
47. Tom Weill, Campbell Soup Company 48. Peter Panzarella, Pitney Bowes, Inc
49. Phillip Williams, Jack in the Box, Inc 50. Jim Scotti, Fluor Corporation
51. Connie Layson, Mohawk Industries, Inc 52. John Needham, WESCO International, Inc
53. Laura Dvorak, Cabela’s Incorporated 54. Ronald Reising, Duke Energy Corporation
55. Curtis Tinney, The J.M. Smucker Company 56. Eric Germa, ANN Inc
57. Cynthia Saine, Ferro Corporation 58. Jamie Bohnke, PPL Corporation
59. Rick Coleman, Lexmark International, Inc 60. Norbert Morin, Hasbro, Inc
61. Joseph Black, Aetna Inc 62. Jody Crawhorn, General Mills, Inc
63. Melissa Fardanesh, Salesforce.com, Inc 64. Fong Wan, PG&E Corporation
65. Angela Biever, Raymond James Financial, Inc 66. Brad Douglas, SunTrust Banks, Inc
67. Rich Valin, Motorola Solutions, Inc 68. Patty Helms, Zale Corporation
69. Bryan Pisani II, Dynegy Inc 70. Mike McHale, Invesco
71. Jerry Yip, Expeditors International of Washington, Inc 72. Stephen T. Lampe, PPG Industries, Inc
73. Mike Oates, Lear Corporation 74. Diane Sozio, Public Service Enterprise Group Inc
75. Tim Clark, Honeywell International, Inc 76. Tim Garwood, Horace Mann Educators Corporation
77. Chris Birrell, Revlon, Inc 78. Christine S. Breves, Alcoa Inc
79. James A Ward, Eli Lilly and Company 80. Mark Purtilar, The Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company
81. Linda M Parcher, Diebold, Incorporated 82. Gary A Miller, A. Schulman, Inc
83. Shelley Stewart, E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company 84. David Brown, Masco Corporation
85. Stuart W Nichols, Leggett & Platt, Inc 86. Tim G. Marlette, Community Health Systems, Inc
87. Han W. M. Kieftenbeld, Ingredion Incorporated 88. Thomas K Linton, Flextronics
89. Tim Fiore, ThyssenKrupp NA 90. Farryn Melton, Bristol-Myers Squibb
91. Quentin Roach, Merck 92. Leslie Campbell, Reed Elsevier
93. Rick Hughes, Proctor & Gamble Company 94. Julie Reed, BJ’s Wholesale Club
95. Robin Shahani, American Express 96. Kenneth Edwards, Beam Inc
97. Rubik Babakanian, Western Digital 98. Greg Woods, Webster Bank
99. Paula Tollivier, Dow Chemical 100. Julia Brown, Mondelez International